Dynasty Warriors vs Samurai Warriors

Nothing happened today other than my sister coming over the NJ to pick up her laptop and ask my help to set it up for her. Played Dynasty Warriors 5 with my niece for a while between teaching my sister how to use her dell and itunes.

IMO, Dynasty Warriors is more fun than Samurai Warriors because I am more familiar with the history and the interface for that game. While Samurai Warriors is a spinoff of DW and is based on the Japanese warring states period, there are a few things that differentiate the two other than national histories:

1. Dynasty Warriors has a j-rock driven soundtrack while Samurai Warriors has ambient trance in the background (SW)

2. Dynasty Warriors sounds better in English while Samurai Warriors makes sense to have Japanese speaking characters (DW)

3. Dynasty Warriors has more flexibility in developing characters; Samurai Warriors does not (DW)

4. Dynasty Warriors has more playable characters; (DW)

5. Dynasty Warriors has characters that wield every imaginable Asian combat weapon; Samurai Warriors has ninjas (SW)

6. Dynasty Warriors has an open-ended approach to battles; Samurai Warriors has a mission-based system that affects battle outcomes (SW)

7. Dynasty Warriors lets you use Nanman characters; Samurai Warriors has musketeers (SW)\

8. Dynasty Warriors is based on ancient Chinese history while Samurai Warriors is based on modern Japanese history (DW)

9. Dynasty Warriors was the first of its kind; Samurai Warriors came about from DW's success (DW)

10. DW's Zhao Yun (趙雲) can make SW' Sanada Yukimura (真田幸村) his bitch in terms of popularity and combat experience (DW)

With that said, I prefer Dynasty Warriors over Samurai Warriors although the two are very similar in format, quality and fun. Maybe my views on Samurai Warriors will improve when I get the chance to play SW2 when it comes out in the States around September. In the meantime, I would really appreciate if Koei made a hack-and-slash strategy game that combines the strengths of both Dynasty Warriors and Samurai Warriors that was about the Seven-Year War (壬辰倭亂) between Japan, China and Korea from 1592-1598 when Hideoyoshi made the mistake of trying to invade Ming China through Korea. This would make a great game and movie.

The Seven-Year War was the military confrontation from 1592 to 1598 on the Korean peninsula, consisting of two successive Japanese invasions of Korea. With the professed aim of conquering China, Japanese troops invaded Korea in 1592 and again in 1597. In both campaigns, the Japanese invasions were defeated by the allied forces of Korea and China. Although victorious against the invading Japanese, Korea suffered great loss of life and significant damage to its economy.

16 thoughts on “Dynasty Warriors vs Samurai Warriors”

  1. i think i like SW’s Sanada Yukimura a bit more then Zhao Yun, you should say something about Lu Bu and Maeda Keiji, Clash of the titans haha

  2. Pingback: Study tip
  3. I have yet to play SW but I have to edmit I just looked up the charictars and I wasn’t all that impressed. I shall try to play SW though I’m not as excited as I thought I would be. I’m not sure how this opinion will change as some things to DW5 dissapointed me from my fav. charictars. I also noticed while DW dose have 48-ish playable people this SW dosn’t really seem to have that many drawing my attention back to DW Awsome artical

  4. As our Chinese, we’ll win the war with Lu Bu at the end, but it’s gonna be not easy to call Lu Bu’s help that easy. Because Keiji Maeda’s less than Tadakatsu Honda’s might, as I still more prefer Maeda than Honda. Anyway, I know usually China’ll swollow Japan for sure, but, for the equal, Koei must make SW strong, so that make the whole DW troops & officers some hard-times. In this case, until DW comes to a desperate moment, the time has finally come, for to call of the help from Lu Bu! That’s my vision about its. Sorry if I didn’t mentioned Korean warriors, because previous hadn’t bring any Korean warriors game. So, we’ve to get a little bit reasonable. Maybe you’ll say then we can start with 1 Korean game. But I think it’s already too late for that, & they’re not formiliar anyway. So, in this case Koei might put some strong made-up Korean warriors like Maeda & Honda, but not to mention Lu Bu, otherwise it’s too much for the SW to against with. Of course in mix with DW & SW Xtreme Legend titles again for the 5th weaponry, & the new added mix with loading original disc mode also for DW & SW Empires titles for massive troops & online battles. Yep, & that’s all my vision about the Dynasty Warriors VS Samurai Warriors game.

  5. I think DW is better than SW becasue SW wouldn’t have existed if not for DW. And there are alot more reasons like the fact that DW warriors have more characters, three main clans and therefore three main leaders that all battle it off with each other although i do like the fact that there are more leaders over time for instance Shingen and Kenshin then Nobunaga and then Mitsunari and hidioshi.

    I believe the main reason that the two games are sucsessfull is becasue it is a true story. I knew that DW was true but i didn’t know that SW was aswell

    I think the ultimate KOEI game will be a face off between the two Japan Vs China. All they neew to do is add more characters to SW and then that game will rule all KOEI games

  6. In my opinion, I like SW more cuz the soldiers, the common ones, look cooler, and fight more realistically. Also, I love Kotaro Fuma 🙂

  7. i think both are great but imagine ……keji vs. honda vs. lubu…. that would be awsome.
    yukimura vs. zhao yun vs.machao….
    out of all of this i would pick….damn…can’t koei just make a game that has dynasty and samurai in it.
    now that would be awsome.!!!

  8. yeah Keiji, vs. honda, vs. lubu would be cool…give them each 100,000 troops and no other officers, who would win? i tried keiji vs. honda on SW2 empires and they were computer controlled and maxed out stats…it was random who would win. and if i play with my friends we would draw…i like the dw4 versus mode because it can give us challenge our friends but i like dw5 version of musuo. and for the sw1 vs. mode is good like two armies of each friends fighting but we can’t even choose the officers to follow us… i hope in the future koei would put versus mode for dw and sw. its fun to challenge friends…

  9. I think Lu Bu would kill any1 on dynasty warriors and samurai warriors,not that honda and keji are weak but i think Lu Bu is just 2 powerful,lol.And i think dw and sw are equally the same,in terms of fun,graffics,playing,characters….but i think sw could have more characters!

  10. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you
    get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything
    you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  11. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you could be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and
    may come back in the future. I want to encourage continue your great
    work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  12. A single other products that virtually all micro-enterprise homeowners fall short to identify is the significance of sluggish world-wide-web website page or website loading pace.
    Look for engines love this and will spider your site much more normally.

  13. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links
    or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

